Basic informationTotal capacity: 16 beds
No. of rooms: 5 + 1 apartment
Access for handicaped in first floor
Many possible activities & sightsees
How to get there
Possible activities & sightsees
Castles and chateaux
Červená lhota is a chateau surrounded by a pond with fascinating English park. Originally a medieval water stronghold from the 14th century, the chateau is frequently visited and is very popular due to wedding ceremonies held there.
Dačice is originally a Renaissance chateau built in the 16th century. In the early 19th century rebuilt into an Imperial Style by Bedřich Karel Dalberk. The chateau is surrounded with magnificent English park with a small lake, precious aquatic flora and nature trees.
Jindřichův Hradec is one of the largest complex among Czech castles originally from the early 13th century. Guiding tours are launched consequently in accordance with reconstructions and reveal fine expositions of painting and tapestries.
Landštejn is one of the most prominent medieval holders was Vilém of Landštejn. During the 15th and the 16th century extensive rebuilding work was undertaken into the Renaissance style.
Třeboň is originally an Augustinian monastery from the 12th century expanded by Petr Vok in between 16th and 17th century. The outer walls are decorated with the graffiti and the interiors are adorned with period furnishings.
In the footsteps of the Vítkovice family
Jindřichův Hradec - Jindřich I. of Hradec founded a Roman Gothic Castle
prior to 1220 on a site of the original Slavonic fortified settlement from
the 10th century. It was named the Jindřichův Hradec Castle after its
founder. Under cover of the castle there was a market settlement rapidly
expanding. In 1293 it was firstly mentioned as a town. During the 16th and
17th centuries the town of Hradec became a center of an extensive estatem
which, in terms of size soon resembled the dominion of the Rosenbergs. In
1604 soon after Lords of Hradec died out, the estate passed into the hands
of Vilém Svatava of Chlum and consequently into the hands of the Cerníns of
The castle and the chateau are situated in the southwestern part of the town's historical core. Today's complex has a Renaissance appearance with minor Baroque modifications. The dominant cylinder-shaped tower the so-called Dungeon dating from the early 13th century is the oldest part of the castle. The sate consists of a rounded featuring the elements of Mannerism, which is considered to be an entirely unique place on the European continent.
Třeboň The original settlement was founded as far back as in the first half of the 12th century within the territory belonging to Vítek of Prčice. In 1341 Třeboň obtained the rights of a town, however the town gained real prosperity only during the years 1366-1611 under the reign of the master of Rožmberk. In the 16th century the grandiose foundations of the pond system in the region of Třeboň were laid. In the 13th century the small castle stood on a site of the northern part of the today's Renaissance Chateau. The chateau went through its greatest constructional prosperity during the reign of Vilém of Rožmberk and it continued even after it passed into the hands of Petr Vok. The Schwarzenbergs became the owners in 1650.
Landštejn was probably built between 1210–1235 as a border stronghold in the former Austrian territory. The border area around the castle was in the end connected to the Czech kingdom in 1252. In the second half of the 13th century the castle as well as the whole estate passed into the hands of the Vítkovci of Třeboň. They began to call themselves Lords of Landštejn. After Vilém of Landštejn died the consequent owners were Krajíř of Krajk and Lords of Heberstein. The most extensive alternations to the castle, into a Renaissance style were made in 15th and 16th century.
Stráž nad Nežárkou – on the side of the original town the Lords of Stráž of the Vítkovci family built a castle in the 2nd half of the 13th century, from which the only oval-shaped tower and the cementery remained preserved. After the fire in 1570 the castle became partially uninhabited and later on in 1596 it became a part of the estate of Jindřichův Hradec. The present appearance was acquired during the Baroque reconstruction after 1715.
Jindřichův Hradec – The monastery Church of St. John the Baptist was founded in 1260 and is situated in the northwest part of the historical center of the town. A collection of the renovated gothic murals from the 13th–15th century are worth mentioning. The buildings of the Minorite monastery are attached to the Church.
Třeboň – the Monastery of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Queen with the St Giles' Church was built on the site where the original parish church one stood first mentioned in 1280. There is a preserved clay slate sculpture of the so-called Madonna of Třeboň, (from about 1400). The altar made from several parts by the Master from Třeboň is likely to come from the church and is considered to be one of the most prominent work of the Czech gothic art. It dates back to 1380.
Jewish monuments and relicts
Jindřichův Hradec – Jewish alley with a synagogue dated back to the 18th century, rebuilt into the Gothic style (Chapel of the Czechoslovak Hussite Church at the present time). The local valuable cemetery with a modern ceremonial hall from 1937 was founded reportedly in 1400. (It is being under the reconstruction at the present time). You can find the oldest legible tombstone dated back to 1714 there. (Entry must be pre-ordered; assistance provided)
Písečné nad Dyjí – a valuable, lately restored cemetery close by the village from the early 18th century.
Stráž nad Nežárkou – the synagogue is likely to be from the early 19th century (it is utilized as a store house before now). The reconstructed cemetery from 1830 is situated at the nearby forest. (Entry must be pre-ordered; assistance provided)
Staré město pod Landštejnem – the valuable cemetery with the oldest preserved tombstones since 18th century perched on the rocky hill between the meadows was likely founded in the early 17th century.
Czechoslovak frontier fortification system – between 1936–1938 there was a zone of concrete forts estabilished for defense against the Nazi empire along the Czechoslovak frontier. The Czechoslovak Army left many of the forts with no vestige of fight. Most of them were ruined on purpose. However, there are a few of them that remained preserved. Two of those forts were successfully renovated and fully supplemented. Today they serve as the exhibition museums. One of them is situated near the Monastery on the area of Nová Bystřice.
Narrow-track railways – narrow-track railways in south Bohemia are unique technical monuments documenting the railway traffic development in the Czech republic. In addition to individual towns (such as Nová Bystřice, Jindřichův Hradec, Kamenice nad Lipou), local bussiness men, manufacturers and farmers were credited with the construction of railways. Such railway line from Jindřichův Hradec to Nová Bystřice covering a length of 33 kilometers was firstly open to public in October the 1st in 1897. At the present time it serves for personal, recreational and freight transportation purposes. Another railway line is the so-called Northern Line leading from Jindřichův Hradec to Obrataň. It was put in service on the Christmas day of 1906 and even in these days it is considered to be one of the most important means of transport to the region. Both of the lines run through a picturesque landscape of “Czech Canada” and the Bohemian and Moravian Highlands.
Fishponds and rivers There are two ponds in the surroundings of Jindřichův Hradec—Počátek (Beginning) and Svět (World)—both established by Jakub Krčín. Fishing licence costs 450 CZK (approximately 15€) per day.